Works

Bernd Johannes Wolf (b.1957)

Compositions

(selection, in alphabetical order)

 

 

"An-Regungen“ for cello and piano (2009), published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17136-10.pdf

 

"Daedalus“  for cello solo (1996)

 

"Deine Sonne wird niemals untergehen” (Isaiah 60,20) motet for mixed choir SATB a cappella (1997), published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link  http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17142-10.pdf

 

"der oben swebt” (Oswald von Wolkenstein) for voice, guitar and organ (1979)

 

"Drei mal Drei ist Neune” fugue for percussion instruments (1995, dedicated to Peter Freitag), published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17135-10.pdf

 

"Fagitato” for bassoon and guitar (1998, dedicated to Monika Klar)

 

Fantasie über "Dunkle Wolk“ for oboe, guitar and cello (1979, revised 2015), also playable for guitar and melody instrument or guitar solo, trio version recorded on LP « à la ronde », SST 0192, 1986), published by edition49 music publishing company

 

"Fünf Galgenlieder“ (Christian Morgenstern)  for soprano and guitar (1979, revised 1992 and2012) –  I. Sophie, die Henkersmaid / II.Die Mitternachtsmaus / III. Wer denn? / IV. Das Mondschaf / V. Das Fest des Wüstlings – published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link    http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17133-10.pdf

 

"Hoffnung ist das Ding mit Federn“ for violin, cello and marimba  (2015, dedicated to Silke Frederichs), published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link  http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17139-10.pdf

 

"Homo Homini Lupus“ suite for violin and cello (1996, dedicated to the Wolf family), alternatively for cello and double bass (revised 2011), or for viola and cello (revised 2021) –  Jota / Bagatela / Tango / Giga-Muñeira

 

"Komm! ins Offene, Freund!“ (Friedrich Hölderlin), for soprano and piano (2020, dedicated to Inga Balzer und Tilman Wolf), listed in the Hoelderlin archive at the Wuerttemberg State Library, see under   http://www.statistik-bw.de/Hoelderlin/

 

"LUX” for orchestra (2011/2012, performances 2014 – Rhine-Ruhr Philharmonic – and 2015 – University Orchestra Dortmund), published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link  http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17141-10.pdf

 

"O Haupt voll Blut und Wunden“ for flute  (or oboe) and guitar (1982)

 

“Robin Hood Suite“ for young players, in gradually increasing difficulty, for cello and piano (dedicated to Jonas and Tilman) – “Little John“, Ragtime (1999) / “Robin Hood“, Boogie-Woogie (2000) / “Maid Marian“, Folk Song (2000) / “The Sheriff of Nottingham“ (2002)

 

"Sassofontana“ concert piece for alto saxophone and large orchestra  (2006, first performed 2007, dedicated to Yasemin Gökpinar), published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17140-10.pdf   

 

“The Force That Through The Green Fuse Drives The Flower” for

Bb-clarinet / bass clarinet and organ (2018, first performed 2019)

 

“The Heron” (Vernon Phillips Watkins) for soprano, viola and double bass (1993, version with viola 2009), published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/18027-10.pdf

 

“The Heron” (Vernon Phillips Watkins) for soprano, cello and double bass (1993), published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17134-10.pdf

  

“The World Is Too Much With Us“ (William Wordsworth) for soprano, alto and piano (2010, dedicated to Josefien und Charlotte Stoppelenburg), published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17137-10.pdf

 

“This Is just To Say” (William Carlos Williams) for soprano and cello  (2020), recorded  by Josefien Stoppelenburg, soprano, and Jean Hatmaker, cello, for the CD “Modern Muses”, https://www.navonarecords.com/catalog/nv6377/

“Three Songs of Shattering“ (Edna St. Vincent Millay) for mezzo (or soprano) and string quartet (2015), published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link    http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17138-10.pdf

 

“Three Songs of Shattering“ (Edna St. Vincent Millay) for soprano and orchestra (orchestral version  2017, first performed by Rhine-Ruhr Philharmonic, dedicated to Inga Balzer)

« Une partie d’échecs » (D. Byrne vs B. Fischer) for string quartet  (2021, first performance 17th Oct 2021, dedicated to Jonas Wolf)

 

„Wenn zwei – dann – der Dritte“ – sociogram for three instrumentalists – for oboe, guitar and cello (1990)

 

 

 

Arrangements

(selection, in alphabetical order)

 

 

Albéniz, Isaac, “Granada”, for cello and guitar, published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17148-10.pdf

 

Albéniz, Isaac, “Tango”, for oboe, guitar and cello, recorded on the CD “Ludus Tritonalis”, Ars Produktion, FCD 368 350 (1995)

 

Beethoven, Ludwig van, “Là ci darem  la mano”, for oboe, guitar and cello, recorded on the CD “Ludus Tritonalis”, Ars Produktion, FCD 368 350 (1995)

 

Bizet, Georges, “Seguidilla”, for oboe, guitar and cello, recorded on the CD “Ludus Tritonalis”, Ars Produktion, FCD 368 350 (1995), published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17159-10.pdf

 

Bonfá, Luiz, “Manhã de Carnaval”, for symphonic orchestra

 

Chopin, Frédéric, Nocturne op.9, Nr. 2, for cello and guitar

 

Debussy, Claude, « La fille aux cheveux de lin » for cor anglais, guitar and cello, recorded on LP « à la ronde », SST 0192 (1986), published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17144-10.pdf

 

Donizetti, Gaetano, Solo per Oboe, for oboe and guitar, published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17149-10.pdf

 

Donizetti, Gaetano, Solo in f-minor, for Bb-clarinet and guitar (cf.  Solo per Oboe)

 

Grieg, Edvard, “Wedding Day at Troldhaugen”, for oboe, guitar and cello, recorded on LP « à la ronde », SST 0192 (1986), published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17143-10.pdf

 

Harrison, George, “Here Comes The Sun”, for symphonic orchestra

 

Hindemith, Paul, Suite aus “Ludus Tonalis”, for oboe, guitar and cello, recorded on the CD “Ludus Tritonalis”, Ars Produktion, FCD 368 350 (1995)

 

Piazzolla, Astor, “Milonga del Angel”, for symphonic orchestra

 

Prokofiev, Sergej, “Dance of the Girls with Lilies” and “Dance” from  Suite No. 2 op. 64C, “Romeo and Juliet”, for symphonic orchestra

 

Rasse, Francois, “Cantabile”, for cor anglais, guitar and cello, recorded on LP « à la ronde », SST 0192 (1986), published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17145-10.pdf

 

Rota, Nino, “Romeo and Juliet”, for symphonic orchestra

 

Satie, Erik, Nocturne, troisième, for oboe, guitar and cello, recorded on LP « à la ronde », SST 0192 (1986), published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link    http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17146-10.pdf

 

Satie, Erik, «Avant-dernières pensées», for Bb clarinet, guitar and cello, published by edition49 music publishing company, for PDF sheet music sample follow the link  http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17147-10.pdf

 

 

 

 

Also:

  • pieces for jazz combos

  • (smaller) compositions for use in music education

  • numerous arrangements  for small as well as bigger (flex-) ensembles - a sizeable number of arrangements also for larger jazz groups up to big bands – for use in music education

Werkübersicht

Bernd Johannes Wolf (*1957)

Kompositionen

(Auswahl, alphabetisch)

 

 

„An-Regungen“ für Violoncello und Klavier (2009), erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17136-10.pdf

 

„Daedalus“ für Violoncello solo (1996)

 

„Deine Sonne wird niemals untergehen” (Jesaja 60,20) Motette für gemischten Chor SATB a cappella (1997), erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17142-10.pdf

 

„der oben swebt” (Oswald von Wolkenstein) für Gesang, Gitarre und Orgel (1979)

 

„Drei mal Drei ist Neune” Fuge für Perkussions-Instrumente (1995, Peter Freitag gewidmet), erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17135-10.pdf

 

„Fagitato” für Fagott und Gitarre (1998, Monika Klar gewidmet)

 

Fantasie über „Dunkle Wolk“ für Oboe, Gitarre und Violoncello (1979, redigiert 2015), auch ausführbar für Melodieinstrument und Gitarre bzw. Gitarre solo, Trioversion eingespielt auf LP « à la ronde », SST 0192 (1986), erschienen im Verlag edition49

 

„Fünf Galgenlieder“ (Christian Morgenstern)  für Sopran und Gitarre (1979, Neufassung 1992, redigiert 2012) –  I. Sophie, die Henkersmaid / II.Die Mitternachtsmaus / III. Wer denn? / IV. Das Mondschaf / V. Das Fest des Wüstlings –  erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17133-10.pdf

 

„Hoffnung ist das Ding mit Federn“ für Violine, Violoncello und Marimbaphon (2015, Silke Frederichs gewidmet), erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17139-10.pdf

 

„Homo Homini Lupus“ Suite für Violine und Violoncello (1996, der Familie Wolf gewidmet), alternativ für Violoncello und Kontrabass (redigiert 2011) bzw. Viola und Violoncello (redigiert 2021) –  Jota / Bagatela / Tango / Giga-Muñeira

 

„Komm! ins Offene, Freund!“ (Friedrich Hölderlin), für Sopran und Klavier (2020, Inga Balzer und Tilman Wolf gewidmet), im Bestand des Hölderlin-Archivs der Württembergischen Landesbibliothek Stuttgart, siehe unter  http://www.statistik-bw.de/Hoelderlin/

 

„LUX” für Orchester (2011/2012, Aufführungen 2014 – Rhein-Ruhr Philharmonie – und 2015 – Universitätsorchester Dortmund), erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17141-10.pdf

 

„O Haupt voll Blut und Wunden“ für Flöte (oder Oboe) und Gitarre (1982)

 

“Robin Hood Suite“ für junge Spieler, in ansteigender Schwierigkeit, für Violoncello und Klavier (für Jonas und Tilman) – “Little John“, Ragtime (1999) / “Robin Hood“, Boogie-Woogie (2000) / “Maid Marian“, Folk Song (2000) / “The Sheriff of Nottingham“ (2002)

 

„Sassofontana“ Konzertstück für Altsaxophon solo und großes Orchester (2006, UA 2007, Yasemin Gökpinar gewidmet), erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17140-10.pdf   

 

“The Force That Through The Green Fuse Drives The Flower” für Klarinette/Bassklarinette und Orgel (2018, UA 2019)

 

“The Heron” (Vernon Phillips Watkins) für Sopran, Viola und Kontrabass (1993, Version mit Viola 2009), erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/18027-10.pdf

 

“The Heron” (Vernon Phillips Watkins) für Sopran, Violoncello und Kontrabass (1993), erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17134-10.pdf

  

“The World Is Too Much With Us“ (William Wordsworth) für Sopran, Alt und Klavier (2010, Josefien und Charlotte Stoppelenburg gewidmet), erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17137-10.pdf

“This Is just To Say” (William Carlos Williams) für Sopran und Violoncello (2020), eingepielt 2020 von Josefien Stoppelenburg, Sopran, und Jean Hatmaker, Violoncello, auf der CD “Modern Muses”

 

“Three Songs of Shattering“ (Edna St. Vincent Millay) für Mezzosopran (oder Sopran) und Streichquartett (2015), erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17138-10.pdf

 

“Three Songs of Shattering“ (Edna St. Vincent Millay) für Sopran und Orchester (Orchesterfassung 2017, UA 2019 Rhein-Ruhr Philharmonie, Inga Balzer gewidmet)

 

« Une partie d’échecs » (D. Byrne vs B. Fischer) für Streichquartett (2021, Jonas Wolf gewidmet)

„Wenn zwei – dann – der Dritte“ – Soziogramm für drei Instrumentalisten – für Oboe, Gitarre und Violoncello (1990)

 

 

 

Bearbeitungen

(Auswahl, alphabetisch)

 

 

Albéniz, Isaac, “Granada”, für Violoncello und Gitarre, erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17148-10.pdf

 

Albéniz, Isaac, “Tango”, für Oboe, Gitarre und Violoncello, eingespielt auf CD “Ludus Tritonalis”, Ars Produktion, FCD 368 350 (1995)

 

Beethoven, Ludwig van, “Là ci darem  la mano”, für Oboe, Gitarre und Violoncello, eingespielt auf CD “Ludus Tritonalis”, Ars Produktion, FCD 368 350 (1995)

Bizet, Georges, “Seguidilla”, für Oboe, Gitarre und Violoncello, eingespielt auf CD “Ludus Tritonalis”, Ars Produktion, FCD 368 350 (1995), erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17159-10.pdf

 

Bonfá, Luiz, “Manhã de Carnaval”, für Symphonieorchester

 

Chopin, Frédéric, Nocturne op.9, Nr. 2, für Violoncello und Gitarre

 

Debussy, Claude, « La fille aux cheveux de lin » für Englischhorn, Gitarre und Violoncello, eingespielt auf LP « à la ronde », SST 0192 (1986), erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17144-10.pdf

 

Donizetti, Gaetano, Solo per Oboe, für Oboe und Gitarre, erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17149-10.pdf

 

Donizetti, Gaetano, Solo in f-moll, für Bb-Klarinette und Gitarre (vgl. Solo per Oboe)

 

Grieg, Edvard, “Hochzeitstag auf Troldhaugen”, für Oboe, Gitarre und Violoncello, eingespielt auf LP « à la ronde », SST 0192 (1986), erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17143-10.pdf

 

Harrison, George, “Here Comes The Sun”, für Symphonieorchester

 

Hindemith, Paul, Suite aus “Ludus Tonalis”, für Oboe, Gitarre und Violoncello, eingespielt auf CD “Ludus Tritonalis”, Ars Produktion, FCD 368 350 (1995)

 

Piazzolla, Astor, “Milonga del Angel”, für Symphonieorchester

 

Prokofiev, Sergej, “Lilientanz der Mädchen” und “Tanz” aus der Suite Nr. 2 op. 64C, “Romeo und Julia”, für Symphonieorchester

 

Rasse, Francois, “Cantabile”, für Englischhorn, Gitarre und Violoncello, eingespielt auf LP « à la ronde », SST 0192 (1986), erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17145-10.pdf

 

Rota, Nino, “Romeo und Julia”, für Symphonieorchester

 

Satie, Erik, Nocturne, troisième, für Oboe, Gitarre und Violoncello, eingespielt auf LP « à la ronde », SST 0192 (1986), erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17146-10.pdf

 

Satie, Erik, «Avant-dernières pensées», für Klarinette, Gitarre und Violoncello, erschienen im Verlag edition49, PDF- Notenbeispiel unter dem Link   http://www.edition49.de/pdf/katalog/17147-10.pdf

 

 

 

 

Ferner:

  • Stücke für Jazz Combos

  • (kleinere) Kompositionen für den musikpädagogischen Gebrauch

  • zahlreiche Bearbeitungen sowohl für kleine als auch für (variable) größere Ensembles - zum großen Teil auch für größere Jazzbesetzungen bis zu Big Band – für den musikpädagogischen Gebrauch